Microsoft Excel

PERSONAL.XLSB is locked for editing

How to disable this message:

PERSONAL.XLSB is locked for editing
Open ‘Read-Only’ or click ‘Notify’ to open read-only and receive notification when the document is no longer in use.

  1. In Excel, go to the View tab and choose Unhide in the Ribbon under the Windows group.
  2. When the dialog box appears, choose “PERSONAL” and click OK.
  3. Go to the Review tab in the Changes group and click Share Workbook.
  4. On the Editing tab of the dialog box, click the checkbox next to “Allow changes by more than one user at the same time.”
  5. You can choose to make additional options on the Advanced tab.
  6. If this is a new workbook, type in a name in the File name box. If this is an existing workbook, click OK to save the workbook.
  7. Click File, Save.

Important: If you need to add or edit a PERSONAL macro, you’ll need to unshared the PERSONAL.XLSB file first.

Once you are done with your PERSONAL.XLSB file, you can go back to View tab and choose to Hide it again. This way, when you go to open Excel, it doesn’t open the PERSONAL.XLSB file each time.

If you have links to other Excel Workbooks or Documents, you will need to update them.

  1. Go to the Data tab and click Edit Links under the Connections group. If the Edit Links is unavailable, your file does not contain any links to other documents or workbooks.
  2. Click Check Status.
  3. Click the link in the Status column and take action required.

If the status shows “Warning: Click Open Source, and calculate the workbook by pressing F9”, click File tab, then Options. In the Formulas category, under Calculations options, click Automatic.

If the status shows “Warning: Some names cannot be resolved until the source workbook is opened”, click Open Source, switch back to the destination workbook, then click Check Status. If this doesn’t work, switch to the source workbook, go to the Formulas tab, click Name Manager under the Defined Names group and look for the name.

Unshare Workbook

  1. Click Review tab, click Share Workbook under the Changes group.
  2. In Editing tab, make sure you’re the only one who has it open exclusively.
  3. Uncheck the “Allow changes by more than one user at the same time” checkbox. If the checkbox isn’t available, you need to remove the workbook protection first by going to the Review tab and clicking on Unprotect Shared Workbook. After you’ve done this, go back to step 1 and follow the instructions. Uncheck the checkbox mentioned in this step and click ok. It may have a warning effects pop-up dialog box. If so, click Yes.

 

By Rana Kory

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s